Max Colson: Tales

Photojournalism MA student at the LCC

Blow torched chicken and lamb cubes: My trip to the Halal Butcher

with 4 comments


As I referred to in a previous post, it took me 4 separate attempts to be allowed to photograph inside a Halal butcher. It was hard.

After being labelled an “uneeded factor in the equation” by one man sporting a gleaming business smile, a Bluetooth earphone and a knuckle crunching handshake, I nearly called it quits on my attempt to capture some of Shepherd’s Bush’s finest meatmongery for my ‘people at work’ photo assignment.

However luck finally came my way when I chanced upon ‘Zee’, the genuine and incredibly friendly manager of another joint down the road. Having absolutely no problems with me protruding my lens into the nooks and crannies of his lamb sawing schedule or the intricacies of smoking chicken via blowtorch I was given a time, a handshake and the affirmative. Perseverance does work if you smile enough.

I’d say that 80% of the frames I took were out-of-focused pants quite frankly, so I didn’t decide to show any of the shoot in my tutorial. However there was a blow torching scene at the end of my shoot which is actually quite interesting to look at. Here the selected frames in all their meaty glory (really, really, sorry but I so had to get that pun in there somewhere):

Written by Max Colson

January 27, 2011 at 10:59 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Max…I wanna up the contrast on these quite a bit…to make them more gritty. I think it would match the images more, give them more drama perhaps.

    Linka

    January 28, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    • No I totally agree Linka, they are flatter than they should be, and the contrast would definitely bring the singed chicken to life a lot more, yes!

      I wasn’t sure whether we could touch up stuff on the blog, that’s all…but there are no rules on these blogs are there?

      Good first comment, I like that kinda feedback – that’s the kind of feedback that makes me improve!

      Max Colson

      January 28, 2011 at 9:54 pm

      • I got the google reader going, so I will be commenting for sure now.

        No rules for sure on this blog thing.

        I was thinking of making two blogs, but one takes enough time. Mine is gonna be a mix of class & a mix of life.

        I feel like that is the truth, anyways, ya know!!

        Linka

        January 30, 2011 at 5:54 pm

  2. ^ yup. and mixing it makes it more fun to write!

    Max Colson

    January 31, 2011 at 3:53 pm


Leave a Reply

