Max Colson: Tales

Photojournalism MA student at the LCC

Test Driving the Panasonic Lumix GF1

with 6 comments

After checking out people’s work from the Street Photography assignment a few weeks back, I realised that I was definitely missing having a small camera to take around with me. What originally got me into photography was the point and shoot. It’s well small. You can just stick it in your pocket and forget about it, which is represents some serious freedom for the typical DSLR user. However their build quality is seriously lacking, and after having two pack up on me I’ve decided to opt for a better build of machine as I want my next compact for the long-haul.

I saw Italo Morales was having a whale of a time on the street with his Olympus EP-1. After some immensely helpful advice from him I actually eventually ended up opting for the EP1’s direct competitor the Panasonic Lumix GF1. It is small, it is lovely and it takes nice photos. I took it out for its first proper test drive this weekend. Here are some of the adventures:

 

Wedding dinner in Chinatown

The bride and groom cut the cake

Loadsa chats

Some sleeping

 

Unidentified man in bookshop

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Max, I have this camera to….its a cool piece of kit! What lens did you get the fixed 20mm or the zoom?

    TRACEY FAHY Photography

    March 7, 2011 at 9:50 am

    • I got both! :-0

      I want the zoom for filming but for most of the photography I’ve done I use the 20mm, which is pretty nice. F1.7 is sweet! Can’t believe how fast the auto focus on this camera is either, it makes such a difference from the other compacts I’ve used…

      Max Colson

      March 7, 2011 at 10:03 am

  2. Hi Max, I’ve also in mind to buy a Lumix camera…..at the moment I don’t have the money. I first saw it at the Lumix Photo Festival (for Photojournalism) in Hannover/Germany. The filming quality is also very high. Have a nice time with your new equipment.

    Christina Vazou

    March 8, 2011 at 9:15 am

    • Yep, the Lumix is expensive for what it is. But I need to have more opportunities to practice taking photos fast and my DSLR is just too big to allow me to take it around everywhere I go…

      But the Olympus EP-1 is even more expensive. In England it seems to be about £150 more so I don’t think it’s worth it, even though the EP1 is probably a lot better with recording movies (it’s got a great mic and you can also attach an external one if that’s not good enough).

      Max Colson

      March 8, 2011 at 9:23 am

  3. Max I am glad you’re liking it. I am tempted to buy the 20mm 1.7f…:-) continue having fun.

    IM Editor

    March 9, 2011 at 7:18 am

  4. Max I am glad you’re liking it. I am tempted to buy the 20mm 1.7f…:-) continue having fun.
    Italo

    IM Editor

    March 9, 2011 at 7:18 am


Leave a Reply

