Max Colson: Tales

Photojournalism MA student at the LCC

Role-playing

with 8 comments

I just got back from a trip to Belgium where I was part of the re-enactment of the the Battle of Waterloo.

Although I was out on the battlefield with the men I was also living in an 1815 style military camp with the rest of the Allied forces trying to learn the ways of the 1815 military, light fires, follow orders, and hold muskets. Serious thanks to the brilliant 94th Old Scotch Brigade for allowing me to be embedded whilst they were part of the 1000 man re-enactment. Unfortunately I didn’t get to fire any weapons but we’ll have to save that for next time.

More to come but I thought I’d give you my self portrait of me being the action hero first. I have my mean face on and everything:

max colson photographer re-enactment

Self-portrait with musket and 1815 English military 'red coat' uniform

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. FANTASTIC….I love it! Hope it was a good weekend?

    TRACEY FAHY Photography

    June 20, 2011 at 4:21 pm

  2. That’s hilarious, Max. Also loving the mean face, very scary. Did you survive?

    richienglish

    June 20, 2011 at 4:38 pm

  3. @ Richard – Yes I did, although I definitely needed about 5 showers in the end. It’s dirty stuff being an 1815 soldier!

    @Tracey – God it was fantastic, a serious spectacle! The unit I was with were great too so it made it all the more enjoyable…more (less jokey!) pics up soon…

    Max Colson

    June 21, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    • Max July we will teach you to fire the muskets and skirmish with us it was a pleasure to have you along Elaine loves the photo of me in the woods its like a still from a film missed opportunity there i think the 94th were glad to have you along mate dont forget your camera in july.Max you might scare the french but you dont scare me your mother might love you but i dont!!!!!ha ha Stephen Seymour Sgt Major Stephen Seymour 94th rgt of Foote.

      stephen seymour 94th.

      June 22, 2011 at 2:24 pm

  4. Max have a look at the work of Mikel Bastida on war re-enactment on http://www.30y3.com/esp/?p=1877

    IM Editor

    June 21, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    • yeah Veronika forwarded me his work yesterday…I like it a lot – although he sails close to where I am on this project…I’ll post up the other photos I took whilst I was away later and see if I need to adapt my direction slightly…

      Cheers for the link Italo!

      Max Colson

      June 21, 2011 at 3:44 pm

  5. […] mentioned in my previous post I went to a re-enactment of the Battle of Waterloo on the weekend. Here are some of the other […]

  6. So glad you played along…how fun!!!

    Linka Anne O

    June 22, 2011 at 3:58 pm


Leave a Reply

