Max Colson: Tales

Photojournalism MA student at the LCC

The human presence

with 5 comments

Max Colson photography photographer tomato advertisement

Over the summer I didn’t really know what to do with myself. I had a camera in my room and it was burning a hole in the drawer where I kept it. What the hell kind of images should I make? What was the point of using the camera? Where was I going?

Earlier on in the summer I had handed in my first assessed MA project Napoleon Dynamite with a sense that it was okay. There were some nice images in there but, as was later commented upon, it was a piece which didn’t hang together as well as it could. Nevertheless I learnt a lot more about how to handle my camera under pressure and so it good learning experience in this respect.

I didn’t have any gleaming ideas over the summer either but I wanted to play around with how I was photographing and try something new. To try and free myself I decided to do some walking around London with a tripod and to try not photographing with a journalistic story in mind. Instead the only thing I would do is would to capture anything building or surface that struck me. Inevitably, being pictures taken in a city, there would always be a human presence.

Max Colson photography photographer shadow and face

Max Colson photography photographer council estate bin bag London

Max Colson photography photographer front door spyhole

Max Colson photography photographer council estate delivery boy london

Max Colson photography photographer atm cash machine london

Written by Max Colson

November 22, 2011 at 9:53 pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is great Max! Especially number 1, 2 & 6. Spot on. Are you doing more like this? You should check Peter Hopes’ (from my class) work. He has shot his final project in a similar atmosphere. See you at the show?

    A

    Anders Birger

    November 25, 2011 at 11:31 am

  2. cheers Anders. I certainly want to do more images like these. I find them refreshing to discover in the midst of life in London. They have a clarity which is hard to find in the business of everything.

    And you’re favourite images have got me thinking. Thankyou. I think I know where I want to take this project in the future. I’ll keep it mysterious for now though, until I can find some more of the same. Wish me luck!

    And yes. Definitely see you at your show. I cannot wait to check out everyone’s work. There’s so much variety and interesting material on the site already; I want to see more. Catch you on the 13th Dec!

    Max Colson

    November 25, 2011 at 1:04 pm

  3. @Anders

    oh and checked out Peter Hope’s work. Like it a lot.

    Your project looks brilliant as well by the way. I’m very interested to see what it’s like in the flesh.

    Max Colson

    November 25, 2011 at 1:06 pm

  4. i’m with anders, love this series a lot. did you talk about these with peter fraser, max? what’s he saying? looks like his cup of tea, where…the thinking comes later…. hope you’ll continue with this project!

    uta beyer

    November 28, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    • Hi Uta! I haven’t really shown Peter Fraser most of these as they weren’t really produced as part of his exercises. Perhaps I should though?

      Max Colson

      November 29, 2011 at 5:09 pm


Leave a Reply

