Max Colson: Tales

Photojournalism MA student at the LCC

Roaming around

with 8 comments

max colson venice rialto bridge grand canal photography

Looking over the Rialto bridge

I recently got a medium format camera and I decided to take it away with me to Venice and to Bristol in England over Christmas. Here are some snaps from my trips.

I have to say I do enjoy the process a lot, and using a tripod really helps slow everything down. Whether this is the right camera for my next project I am not sure, but it’s pretty fun exploring things with it.

max colson photography gate bristol

max colson photography bristol forest

max colson photography bristol forest

max colson photography bristol forest tree

Written by Max Colson

January 18, 2012 at 11:18 pm

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Max, I think you just convinced me to keep my Mamiya 7!

    Simon Bates

    January 19, 2012 at 2:24 pm

  2. Very nice Max….i really want to get a Mamiya 7II…..is that what you have?

    TRACEY FAHY Photography

    January 20, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    • Thanks Tracey…I’m secretly hoping that Peter Fraser might look upon some of these more favourably than my other more ‘liney’ ones…

      The camera is the mamiya 7, which is pretty similar to the 7ii except a lot less expensive ( the mamiya 7 does also have more of a plasticky body, darker viewfinder and no capacity to take multiple exposures – I’m sure that’s not the exhaustive list of all the differences but I didn’t find anything else that justified the price tag for the 7ii)

      Max colson

      January 20, 2012 at 1:51 pm

  3. hi max, those results are fantastic, love the venice one.

    how do you handle all the film purchasing and developing things? that’s one of the things i’m a bit worried about. otherwise, the results are so convincing…

    one more question, did you purchase the camera online? did that work well?

    uta beyer

    January 20, 2012 at 3:34 pm

  4. …and what are the price ranges?

    uta beyer

    January 20, 2012 at 3:34 pm

  5. Thanks uta…

    I’ve just dropped you an e-mail to answer your Q’s…

    Max Colson

    January 21, 2012 at 1:04 pm


Leave a Reply

